condensation or real leaks???

Old 01-13-07, 06:03 PM
N
nan
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
condensation or real leaks???

I am new at this hope I am starting where I should.
Ok our house is about 30 years old, two story. upstairs the ceilling is t&g with no insulation. about 5 years ago (6 years after we bought it) we had a new shingle roof put on we had no problems with leaks it was just time to put a new roof on. any way about 3 years after new roof, it started to leak. the roofer came out and told us it was condensation from our skylight, we thought ok he must be right but it also leaked and seeped along the edge of one side and also on the other side of room away from the skylight.to make a long story short (too late) after about 3 wet weather seasons and numerous excuses from the contractor for the leaks it is getting worse. during our last heavy down pour there were 4 new leaks comming in as it was raining.
after calling the contractor and not hearing back from him we sent a letter to let him know we would have to solve this in court, quess what, he called as soon as he got that letter, but is still blaming it on condensation he says that is what will happen with the type of ceilling we have the hot air has no where to go.. but what I don't understand is that it had never leaked like that before the new roof and with the last down pour the water was coming in,but good.

any advise please
thanks!!!!

Old 01-14-07, 08:18 AM
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
I'm not much help but any way it needs to be fixed.

Old 01-14-07, 08:24 AM
T
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts