Repairing fascia, soffit!

Old 11-08-07, 10:59 PM
M
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Repairing fascia, soffit!

I purchased a block shop/building last year. It has been neglected on the interior and exterior. I am pretty handy and a quick learner and pretty much self taught from sites like these. Never tackled any roofing or siding whatsover. Some of the fascia boards are pretty bad. Some damaged, some moldy, etc. Is there anything wrong with just putting vinyl fascia and soffit on without repairing it? How hard to replace? Just knock or cut off the fascia and replace? It has some fascia and soffit installed. Some is MISSING? Looks like the "F" channel is used against the building side. This is an old building which is commercial property and enjoy fixing up hoping to get a return on it in the future. Something I can tackle? Sorry for the long post. These sites are full of information.

Old 11-09-07, 06:06 AM
W
Received 55 Likes on 48 Posts
Roof

What kind of roof system does the building have?
Is it a sloped roof with overhanging soffits?
We need more info. Photos would help. You can post photos on Photobucket and give us the address. Post back.

Old 11-09-07, 06:34 AM
M
It is a sloped roof. Old block building. The roof doesn't have osb it has what looks like to be 1x10 boards then it doesn't look like felt paper but seems to be shingled right to the boards. Eventually i'd like to update and redo the roof maybe with a metal roof. It does have overhang.

Old 11-09-07, 11:13 AM
W
Received 55 Likes on 48 Posts
Trim

I would replace any decayed wood. You need solid wood to attach any type of soffit or fascia material.

I would guess that you can do the repairs.
Do the repairs on the wood first. Next, do the soffit. Then do the fascia. Good luck with your project.

Old 11-09-07, 11:52 AM
M
If I don't decide to use the drip edge do you just nail the vinyl fascia on top and bottom? What's the best hardware to use for nailing the soffit and fascia?

Old 11-09-07, 12:31 PM
M