Preventing damp in outside annex?

Old 11-19-07, 03:23 PM
L
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Sorry if it's the wrong forum, I wasn't sure if this went under waterproofing. I'll try to explain as easy as I can, I'm not too good with remembering the DIY words haha.

A few months ago the garage we have in the back garden was converted into an annex to stay in. It has electricity, telephone, front door, windows, bathroom, shower etc.

Everything is fine except that near the front door there seems to be a damp rising through (you can tell because if you lift up the carpet near the door there are huge water stains on the plasterboard flooring). It comes out at least a foot and if you touch the part nearest to the door its almost always wet.

At first we assumed it was a problem with the bricks of the garage allowing the water to come through (as they are years old and there is no special damp proof material over it) but at a closer look it seems that it's dripping from the inside of the door.

Now that may not be the whole problem, it could also be the brick, Before I go off about the door, how would I stop the bricks from allowing water in? There are no visible holes or anything so we can only assume that it's because the brick must be permeable.

Back to the door. You have the door, and the door frame. The water seems to be dripping (only when it rains obviously, or in the morning because of condensation) from under the top of the bottom part of the frame (if that makes sense hopefully).

We really don't know how to stop this, but if we don't soon it's going to ruin the floor then it will all be a waste of money. Hopefully somebody here knows a solution, and that I explained it properly.

Old 11-20-07, 06:08 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
could it be coming from the roof ? ? ?

plasterboard flooring ? ? ?,,, never heard of such a thing in my life,,, are you sure its not plywood ? ? ?