my roof leaks, I can't afford metal......

Old 05-27-08, 11:29 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
my roof leaks, I can't afford metal......

Hi,
I am a novice member here, so please forgive me if I post this in the wrong area.
I just bought the serious fixxer-upper I am residing in. I knew when I moved in over a year ago as a renter that it needed some work, but as soon as I put the down payment on it, it went downhill real fast.
I am not sure of the pitch of my roof, all I know is I am so terrified of the roof that I only get up there when necessary. So, I live in the midwest and we all now that rain is very abundant this year, the leak first made an appearrance over my kitchen sink, and last month it began leaking over the bathroom, same side of the roof.
I just want something, besides asphalt that I can rollover the roof until I win the lottery and can replace it. I have looked into some aluminum coatings because the asphalt melts off when it gets to warm.
Does anyone know if there is a coating that will work? I read that post about the torching and the other temp patch stuff, but I was really hoping there is one coating or method that a terrified roof rookie like me could use.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Randy

Old 05-27-08, 03:17 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Check the vent pipes on your roof to see if the rubber boot that seals the vent has begun to fall appart. Should only cost a couple of bucks to replace and something you can do yourself if the roof isn't too steep.

This seem logical as you have a leak in the kitchen, which has a vent stack, and the bathroom, which also has a vent stack.

Old 05-27-08, 04:17 PM
T
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Good, logical advice above.