New Roof wrong color drip edge replacement hard??

Old 10-18-10, 04:10 PM
S
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Roof wrong color drip edge replacement hard??

I had a new roof installed and they were supposed to put brown drip edge all the way around the perimeter of house. Well they put the drip edge all the way around but it was shiny galvinized. The problem is it is on a brown cedar house and sticks out like a sore thumb. Question is the roofer is coming back tomorrow to look at and fix another issues. Can this be replaced without damaging the roof, it goes about 2 inches under singles or could this be painted. What would be the best way to resolve? Something needs to be done.

Thanks

Old 10-18-10, 05:27 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 698 Likes on 616 Posts
You could use a galvanized metal primer and then paint it...... but see what your roofer has to say - I'm just a painter

Old 10-18-10, 06:28 PM
Super Moderator
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I painted mine when we changed trim color. Wiped it down with paint thinner, used beer cartons taped in sections as a mask to protect the trim and painted it with Rustoleum that matched my skylites and windows. Didn't prime (sorry mark), but it's held up for 3 yrs just fine.

I think replacing it would be very expensive at this point and probably damage the shingles to some extent. I'd talk to the roofer, see what he will do moneywise...or talk to a painter and get the roofer to pay if you don't want to or can't do it yourself. Did you have a written contract?

Old 10-19-10, 05:53 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,177 Likes on 1,135 Posts
Sounds like consuming a lot of beer would be required for that job, Vic

I think this would be fine but I would use the proper primer under the paint

Old 10-19-10, 06:03 AM
S
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts