Garage roof

Old 12-29-11, 09:33 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Garage roof

Hi everyone,

This is the second winter in a row where I've noticed a slight drip in my garage roof. This past spring I went up and looked for anything obvious to patch. I didn't see anything but I did seal the vent at the peak of the roof that no one had bothered to do. I was hoping it was just a matter of water getting under the shingles from that point and the leak was just where it found its way in where 2 pieces of plywood meet. Now I am no expert at anything home related, so I may not have slathered enough onto it and I guess this could still be the problem. If nothing else, I will get back up there this spring with my bucket of tar and really seal that sucker.

Well it didn't leak for the remainder of the spring and summer but when it got cold it began to drip again occasionally. So something is expanding when its warm and preventing me from seeing a leak in the summer.

Now it always leaks at one of two places very close to each other and always where one piece of plywood meets another.

So I have a couple of questions for those of you who know more about things like this than I do (which is probably most of you).

1. What should I be looking for the next time I can get up on the roof?
2. What can I use to seal it up in the winter? Or am I stuck waiting until spring again?

Little more info if it helps:

- The shingles are 18 years old but look spectacular.
- There are slight dips in the roof where the trussing has bowed upwards
- The garage is completely uninsulated
- I'm in the Mid Atlantic US (hence my username)

Sponsored Links
Old 12-29-11, 09:55 AM
Group Moderator
Received 54 Votes on 51 Posts
Welcome to th forums.

Drips now only when there's snow on the roof? I suspect you may have ice backing the water up, which would be why you wouldn't experience this in the rain.

Old 12-29-11, 10:10 AM