Did new furnace cause chimney problems?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-12, 02:40 PM
D
DLH
DLH is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did new furnace cause chimney problems?

Iíve lived in my house, it was built in 1954, since 1976 with little or no problems with the chimney. About 5 years ago I had a new furnace installed. High efficiency but not a real high efficiency one as it still had to go out the brick chimney. Now I started having a problem with the chimney brick faces falling off. From the ground I can see at least 2 complete faces that have done this. Could the new furnace be causing this to happen? If so is there something such as a liner that I can have installed to prevent this.

DLH
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-12, 09:08 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, it sounds like the chimney should have been relined.
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-12, 09:13 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The furnace did not cause it. The poor installation caused it. Just my opinion.
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-12, 08:36 AM
D
DLH
DLH is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do you mean by a poor installation?

I understand what is causing the brick face to fall off. With the new furnace putting less heat up the chimney any moisture in the brick is freezing, probably at night, and damaging the brick. What I don't understand is how relining the chimney will stop this.

DLH
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-12, 08:47 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Was the chimney painted? That would cause the moisture to be trapped.
 
  #6  
Old 09-29-12, 09:27 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
A liner should have been installed that is smaller than the size of the chimney.
 
  #7  
Old 09-29-12, 01:50 PM
D
DLH
DLH is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The chimney already has a tile liner. As far as I know it's in good shape. How would another liner help.

DLH
 
  #8  
Old 09-29-12, 03:07 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The smaller liner will be metal and the flue gases won't cool and slow down and condense in the liner.
 
  #9  
Old 09-29-12, 03:27 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
If your tile liner inside the chimney is in good shape then that is not what is causing the outside of the chimney to fall apart.
 
  #10  
Old 09-29-12, 04:13 PM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,130
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The newer, more efficient furnaces do not run long enough to heat the chimney, which causes the moisture to condense on the cold chimney walls, especially in cold climate. The same does not happen in warmer climates because the chimney does not get as cold and maintains the temperature closer to the outdoor temperature. - The same thing happens with some pellet stoves that never get hot flue gasses.

An insulated tin flue would help.

Dick
 
  #11  
Old 09-29-12, 05:19 PM
D
DLH
DLH is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yea, I live in Wisconsin.

I don't understand where the moisture is coming from. Shouldn't the tile liner prevent the moisture in the flue gases from getting to the brick. If the moisture is coming from rain/snow then wouldn't brick houses have the same problem.


DLH
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: