Gutters not working - do it myself or hire contractor?

Old 10-17-12, 08:11 AM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Gutters not working - do it myself or hire contractor?

The section of gutter along the back of my house is not draining off water properly. A couple of years ago, a storm knocked my big market umbrella smack into the gutter. We (my boyfriend) have tried to straighten it, but I noticed the last time that it rained hard, it was still just a waterfall onto the deck at that section. I am now having moisture issues at the back of my crawlspace, and I think that this gutter problem has contributed to it, if not caused it. I just did not realize how bad it was.

I have no experience with gutters, and though I am fairly strong and usually able to figure things out, if the cost is not unreasonable, I would rather have a professional handle such things. (I get tired of asking my BF to fix things, so I am not going there with this .) So, just looking for your opinion here...is replacing a gutter something that I could do, in a reasonable time frame - say , a couple of hours or so...and do it properly? Would I have to replace the entire backside of the gutters? Do I need to match the type of gutter? The house was built in 1994, so these are not fancy, and not covered gutters...just the standard metal (maybe aluminum - I'm not sure) gutters. If I hired someone to do this - do they typically replace just a small section, and what should I expect this to cost?

Thanks so much for your advice.

Last edited by yardnut; 10-17-12 at 10:28 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 10-17-12, 08:19 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
Hard to say without being there - are you able to figure out why the gutter is not working properly? In other words, can you find the problem so we can help you fix it or is the problem not apparent, just the symptom of the gutter not working properly?

If the latter, I'd be more inclined to replace.

Old 10-17-12, 10:25 AM