Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Roofing, Gutters and All Waterproofing Anywhere
Reload this Page >

any suggestions on type of caulk or sealant for flashing on door overhang

Old 10-24-13, 12:09 PM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post

I have a problem with rotting wood in my door overhang resulting from water leaking behind the flashing, and I'm looking for suggestions of what to use to seal the opening. My home is located in south Florida about 6 miles from the coast.

I'm a real novice with do-it-yourself projects, but I have caulked my bathtub twice. My experience with caulking the tub has given me concerns over making sure that the repair job is waterproof. It's my understanding that silicone caulk does a better job of waterproofing than latex. I used latex in my first tub-caulking effort and had to replace the caulk because in less than 3 years it was separating and getting moldy. So I just recently recaulked with silicone and I'm hoping for a better and longer lasting job.

But I have a friend who used to work in construction and he recommends I use latex caulk because he says that the south Florida sun will dry out silicone caulk. Also, I have another friend who is an experienced do-it-yourselfer, and he told me that all caulk is waterproof and he's never heard that silicone is a better or longer lasting waterproofing material.

I've also heard that the type of surfaces involved affects the choice of caulk. I've attached pictures of the overhang. I've been told that the dark brown flashing is probably copper. The exterior of my home is stucco.

I'm wondering if there are better alternatives for insuring a waterproof seal. I'd use a sealant that costs 10 times as much if it were superior and was something that an inexperienced DIYer like me could do a good job with.