Looking to Redo My Roof

Old 02-02-14, 02:01 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Looking to Redo My Roof

Me and the girlfriend live in a hand me down trailer. The trailer is from the 70's and falling apart on us. When we got the trailer, one of the issues it already had was a leaky roof that had already caused extensive water damage in a few spots. For a couple months I worked as a roofer so I have a little experience with re-roofing homes. With the help of my girlfriend's brother in law, who is more handy then me, we have tried to fix this roof twice. Due to a tight budget, both attempts were patch jobs. Part of the roofing is not keeping a good hold to the boards. High winds have continuously caused part of the roofing to fold up on top of itself, exposing the roof to rain. Even though twice we have nailed and tarred the roof, it does not hold.

Since I'm expecting a larger then usually tax return this year I'm looking to reinvest into this trailer. Since we will be here for at least several years till we graduate from college I want to ensure this trailer can last us for as long as we need. Also considering down the line when we look to sell it to get a new home.

After trying to fix this roof twice, I'm over it and want to fix it for good regardless of cost. I know that there will be a good amount of boards I'll need to replace. At the time I'm thinking about redoing the whole roof as well as installing new insulation to help with energy bill.

I'm looking for others thoughts on what type of materials I should use for the roof, what insulation I should use etc.

Currently the roof is flat topped, and we live in the south. At this point not sure if I should go with shingles or metal roof. Also, when I'm done if I should tar the roof again or not. I've read a little online about different types of insulation. Yet, not sure what would be best for the roof other then something with a high R rating.

Old 02-02-14, 03:54 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator