Roof leak, between gutter and shingles

Old 07-22-14, 10:18 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Roof leak, between gutter and shingles

My roof is leaking between the gutters and whats behind it (so it looks to me). I had some estimates to fix and one guy told me I need new gutters, that was the problem. Another guy told me dont let anyone sell you new gutters, without me ever saying someone already had. Been told several different things, different prices and I do not know what the right anwer is. I am thinking I dont need new gutters as they are in fine shape, just behind them its leaky. So.. here are some images. I am thinking flashing is missing and remove gutters, put in flashing, reinstall existing gutters. Should solve leak. But.. I am not an expert by any means and hope someone here can give some pointers?? What is causing the roof to leak?? Best way to fix?? thanks for any help.

Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
Old 07-22-14, 11:54 AM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Although I don't think the photos are sufficient to pinpoint the problem with 100% certainty I will tell you what I can see.

Problem #1 is what looks like too much shingle over hang. I can't tell what if any drip edge you have underneath there or if there is any at all. But a common (and faulty) installation technique with the shingles at the roof's edge is to let way too much of them hang over the roof edge into the gutter. More than an inch or so past the roof edge is too much and the instructions on alot of shingles call for 1/2 or 3/4 inch. Hacks do this to try to ensure that the water cascading off those shingles has nowhere to go but into the gutter so they don't get any call backs about leaking behind the gutter. In the beginning it does prevent this. But eventually because too much of the shingles are unsupported by the structure, they start to weaken and deteriorate prematurely, degrading their ability to prevent water intrusion.