Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Roofing, Gutters and All Waterproofing Anywhere
Reload this Page >

Advice on re-roofing an 10 x 16 shed and I am a total novice

Old 02-22-19, 03:32 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

We have a 20-year-old Dutch bard shed that is 10 x 16. (Each side of roof has 2 surfaces - thatís a Dutch barn?)

A few years ago I think a branch hit one side edge of the roof. Some metal side edging came off. Since then when it rains The inside wall has some water running down it.

So with that in the fair amount of moisture to growing on the roof I decided Iím gonna do something about it.
I tried figuring out what was going on but pretty much ignored it.

Because of the age I guess i& itís in a shaded area I have a pretty good amount of moss growing on the roof also. And the shingles are curling / not as thick as some I saw a roofer put on our house roof.

I pulled off some of the shingles near the leak area and the underlayment plywood was rotted away as was the 2 x 4 on the side wall. And some of the side wall itself.

I tarpped it for the winter and now wonder About roofing it.

they used heavy staples to hold the shingles in place. And they didnít have any tarpaper or other material in there Just shingles on top of plywood.

Any recommendations on what to use and a ballpark cost to reroof a 10 x 16Ď Dutch born roof?

Would you use tarpaper? Something more exotic as an underlayment ? Ridge vent? Itís unheated but just for ventilation would that help? Thereís 2 gable vents - 1 on each end.