Roof tile nail popping

Old 03-16-19, 07:01 PM
Roof tile nail popping

Hi,

I am new to roof repair and would like to some advice. I noticed there is a roof tile that has popped out. I am attaching pics.

I was wondering if I can simply get a roof nail and pop in the roof tile. Would that work? Also, can you let me know what size of nail I should buy? It looks like it is a tile made of concrete and I am not sure what size would work best.

Thanks for reading and appreciate your advice..
Tony

Name:  IMG_1262.JPG
Views: 43
Size:  126.6 KB

Name:  IMG_1263.JPG
Views: 40
Size:  99.6 KB

Name:  IMG_1264.JPG
Views: 39
Size:  85.6 KB

Name:  r3.JPG
Views: 35
Size:  81.6 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 03-16-19 at 07:10 PM. Reason: added 4th enlarged picture
Sponsored Links
Old 03-16-19, 07:11 PM
Group Moderator
You will want a 2" hot dipped galvanized roofing nail. Be sure the nail doesnt go back in the same hole in the wood.

Old 03-16-19, 07:13 PM
Group Moderator
It looks like a roofing nail was used and it's not long enough.
It looks like some of the ones above it are coming out too.

I'd think I'd like to use a screw instead of a nail. Possible a stainless steel Deckmate screw.
If those are ceramic/cement then the device size must be considered carefully so they don't crack.

Old 03-16-19, 07:16 PM
Group Moderator
Screws are fine but most will have heads that go right through. You would need a 2" truss head lag that is exterior rated.

Like this: GRK RSS #10 x 2"

Last edited by XSleeper; 03-16-19 at 07:38 PM. Reason: Add info
Old 03-16-19, 07:47 PM
Thanks for the quick reply. I went to home depot and they told me to use 5 inch roofing nail. Do you think longer nail is better since there is little bit of distance between the tiles and wood?

Old 03-16-19, 07:53 PM
Group Moderator
That is the dumbest thing I've ever heard. But not surprising considering the source. If you want the nail to poke out the back so you can clinch it, you might use a 3" nail.