Squirrels getting inside awning over back deck

Old 09-26-20, 06:02 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Squirrels getting inside awning over back deck

Sorry if this is in the wrong section.

Complete novice here, at best.

Okay, so I was sitting in my living room reading news online earlier today when I started hearing a noise coming from the direction of my back yard. At first, I just shrugged off as something the roofers working on a neighbors' house on the next street over were doing. Got up after hearing it for a bit and went over to the wall to listen and it sounded like something was in the wall, so I went outside to listen from out there. I don’t know if awning is the correct name for it, but my back patio just has a roof on four pillars built over it, and it became clear after going outside that there is a hollow section of this awning, where the rain gutters are connected, and that there was definitely something skittering around in there. I was like, "great...I have rats inside the house's structure."

Banged on the hollow bit with the end of a broom a few times and whatever was inside started screeching at me. Kinda shepherded the squatter in one direction with a few more bangs and eventually a cute little young-looking squirrel popped out of a tiny gap at the corner where the edge of the house's roof and the awning of the patio covering meet. I never would have known the gap was there if not for this experience.

So now I let my dog out just a few minutes ago and it sounds like the squirrel is back in there again.