Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Roofing, Gutters and All Waterproofing Anywhere
Reload this Page >

Roof leaks, Detective work, & sorry about the blank messages!

Old 11-28-01, 12:24 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Sorry about those 3 blank messages, but apparetly the forum software had a problem and I paid the price(I wrote the entire message 3 times and it disappeared).

My problem: I have been patching the roof over a large room for several years, and it keeps leaking. It has a slight slope(15 deg) and was covered with 90# roll roofing about 6-8 years ago. I try to map the leaks from inside and then patch any cracks or holes in that general area with Henry's Roof Cement(#204). Sometimes this works a bit, but usually the leaks continue. Because the roll roofing wasn't put on well, there are ridges and buckles in it, and I have also felt along these ridges for soft spots and even covered them with the roofing cement.

I'd like to ask for some advice and suggestions. This may be the last year in this house and I don't own it, or I would redo the roof the correct way. I've seen mention here of torching and of rubber compounds used for patching, but never seen these at Home Depot or the local lumber yards...so any information about these would be great. I've thought to try Sani-Tred but it looks too expensive for small area patching(1 gallons worth of the three components is $130.00 and will cover 25 sq feet 1/16inch thick. Any thoughts about this?