reroofing


  #1  
Old 01-21-02, 07:42 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
reroofing

I'm new and not sure how this works, so if I do it wrong or ask a stupid question, my apologies.

I need to re-roof a house. There is only one existing layer so I believe I can put new on top of old. Do I just repair the obvious and start laying new shingles on the old? Sounds too easy. Do I need a starter row like a new one does? What else?

Thanks for the help

Butch
 
  #2  
Old 01-21-02, 08:37 AM
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Northeastern NC On The Albemarle Sound
Posts: 10,701
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Cool

Do a layover on the old roof shingles just as if you were putting it on directly to sheathing, starter course and all.
Good Luck
Mike
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-02, 09:11 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the quick response. I think I can do it if that's all it takes. Other than the energy and time that is.

Thanks again.

Butch
 
  #4  
Old 01-28-02, 03:57 AM
pgrfr
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If the old roof is good and straight you should butt the new shingles to the old ones. Put on a starter like always and then butt the top of your second course of shingles to the bottom of the old ones. This will drop your second course down a bit but from then on they should fall into place. Butting them allows the new shingles to lay flat and makes it easier and faster to keep shingles running straight.
 
  #5  
Old 01-28-02, 11:55 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for your reply on the roofing job. I think I'm ready to tackle the job.
Bpelton
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: