reroofing

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-21-02, 07:42 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
reroofing

I'm new and not sure how this works, so if I do it wrong or ask a stupid question, my apologies.

I need to re-roof a house. There is only one existing layer so I believe I can put new on top of old. Do I just repair the obvious and start laying new shingles on the old? Sounds too easy. Do I need a starter row like a new one does? What else?

Thanks for the help

Butch
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-02, 08:37 AM
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Northeastern NC On The Albemarle Sound
Posts: 10,952
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

Do a layover on the old roof shingles just as if you were putting it on directly to sheathing, starter course and all.
Good Luck
Mike
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-02, 09:11 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the quick response. I think I can do it if that's all it takes. Other than the energy and time that is.

Thanks again.

Butch
 
  #4  
Old 01-28-02, 03:57 AM
pgrfr
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If the old roof is good and straight you should butt the new shingles to the old ones. Put on a starter like always and then butt the top of your second course of shingles to the bottom of the old ones. This will drop your second course down a bit but from then on they should fall into place. Butting them allows the new shingles to lay flat and makes it easier and faster to keep shingles running straight.
 
  #5  
Old 01-28-02, 11:55 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for your reply on the roofing job. I think I'm ready to tackle the job.
Bpelton
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: