NIC card

Old 11-24-01, 09:48 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Roof leaks, Detective work, and the best way to repair

I have been patching the roof over a large room for several years. It has a slight slope(15 deg) and was covered with 90# roll roofing about 5-8 years ago. I try to map the leak from inside, and then patch any cracks or holes in that general area with Henry's Roof Cement(#204). Sometimes this works a bit, but usually the leaks continue. One year I covered the entire roof with 6mil plastic(2 pieces, overlapped 6 feet) and amazingly some of the leaks continued. Since the roll roofing wasn't laid down very flat, there are some ridges and I have felt all the elevated areas with my fingers for weak spots, assuming that the rain can somehow soak through a weak(thin) spot even if there is no obvious crack or hole. I have covered any weak spot with more Henry's Roof Cement. But the leaks continue.

I'd like to ask for some advice and suggestions. I have seen mention of torch this and rubber that for repairs but have never see any of these at the lumber yards(or Home Depot) where I buy the roof cement.