bubbling in carpet

Old 05-31-03, 05:06 PM
Harleyladyme
Visiting Guest
bubbling in carpet

I have wall to wall in my mobile home that is about 2 yrs old and have bubbling starting. I don't think it is the floor because when I step on it it goes back down. What would cause this and can it be fixed. Help!!!

Old 05-31-03, 05:33 PM
D
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A carpet restretch in a mobile home is quite involved. Usually the walls are placed on top of the carpet and there is not really any carpet stretching done durung the manufacture of them. I am a carpet man by trade and let me tell you it is no walk through the park for a pro. I would check
www.cfi-installers.org/ for an installer in your area to handle this for you.

Old 05-31-03, 06:27 PM
Harleyladyme
Visiting Guest
carpet bubbling

I am sorry but I think I mislead u on my problem. The carpet is 2 yrs old whereas the mobile home is about 10 yrs old so I don't think the walls are on top of the carpet. Will it be easier to do and how expensive is it or should the people that installed the carpet be responsible for it seeing that it was only done a couple of years ago. Thanks.

Old 05-31-03, 07:07 PM
D
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Honestly by the time you rent a power stretcher you could have paid someone else to do it. Carpet HAS to be power stretched and you need to be extra careful in a mobile home, if not you may push out a wall. The cost and liability of doing this as a DIY will be greater that of having a pro come in and do it. Using a power stretcher in a mobile home takes a long time to learn and I believe it is more than a very savvy DIYer should take on. You could spend the $40.00 to rent a srtetcher and spend most of a Saturday on it or spend $75, watch someone for an hour and have the rest of the day free. The $35 difference will get you out of alot of work and worry about pushing out a wall.

Old 06-01-03, 05:01 AM
Harleyladyme
Visiting Guest
Bubbling in Carpet

Thank you very much for your help.