Carpet Prices and Quality

Old 09-17-03, 05:06 PM
rlrcstrs
Visiting Guest
Carpet Prices and Quality

I have been looking in the stores at carpet and finally found one that appears to be nice quality for the price. However, as I am a novice at this I would like to dig a little deeper and just make sure I am getting value for money.

The store quoted me a set price for carpet, installation and padding. The carpet is a berber by Shaw and someone I know said he could give me a phone number where I could call to North Carolina to get carpet. Well, the store where I found this carpet told me they get it from NC, too. That tells me, though, there must be a reasonable markup on the carpet as well.

I happen to have the sample at home here - not just a square piece cut out but the actual carpet sample that hangs on the rack in the store. Knowing I have this information, is there a way I can compare prices by perhaps getting it direct from NC?

What information do I need from this carpet sample in order to order it directly - and does anyone know if Shaw has a warehouse of their own in the south from which I could order it?

Old 09-18-03, 06:00 AM
Group Moderator
Received 67 Votes on 56 Posts
Some things to remember:

1. ALL businesses (or the vast majority at least) mark up their materials and services from their wholesale costs.
2. You may find the savings not as much as you might think. Remember you are looking to buy maybe 1000 sq feet, whereas carpet places buy it by the truckload.
3. Who is going to install the carpet you buy yourself? You may find that the store you are dealing with will either (a) Not want to install what you buy elsewhere, or (b) will charge more for the installation since they will make nothing on the cost of the materials.
4. How will you get warranty/guarantee work done, if necessary?

Don't get me wrong, I try to get my best price on stuff, too; but I'm not sure I would mail-order carpeting from out of state for installation locally.