Install Stair Runner?

Old 09-24-03, 05:48 PM
B
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Install Stair Runner?

Can anybody give me direction on how to install a stair runner? I'm planning on putting one on my main staircase... it will be "upholstered" (as opposed to "waterfall"--it will conform to the shape of the stairs). Pardon my terminology if it's not correct... I'm still learning.

One installation method I've seen uses tack strips and padding. I'm okay with this, with one concern. The stair runner material is fairly thin... I pulled a piece of it down onto a tack strip, and the tacks actually go all the way through & stick out. I can't imagine that to be good... is there some other way with a thin runner (shorter tacks on the tack strip, or some other method altogether)?

If anybody is experienced with this and can offer direction or suggestions, I'd appreciate it. If you can direct me to a website(s) that give installation instructions, that would be great as well. Thanks in advance for the help!

Brian

Old 09-24-03, 06:43 PM
D
If this is a manufactured runner here you go:
1). Use a felt padding under the runner.

2). Measure the runner's width, divide by 2, save this number

3). Measure the width of the step, divide by 2 this will be the center of the step,mark the center of the top step.

4). Use the saved number from step 2, measure away from the center mark on each side and mark with a pencil. Use a square to make lines on these marks that extend from the riser to the nose of the step. Measure from the wall to your marks to make repeating marks on the rest of the steps. These will be your ledger marks for the runner.

5). Now using your square make marks on the steps 1 inch toward the center from the runner ledger marks. these will be the padding ledger marks. Measure the distance between these marks. This is the size you will cut your tackless and padding.