Stairs, berber, skirt board oh my ....

Old 01-16-05, 04:49 PM
msteudel
Visiting Guest
Stairs, berber, skirt board oh my ....

Hi there,

This is my first time on the board. My fianncee and I just purchased our first house so we are busy learning how to home improve.

So on to my problem.

We had a carpet company come in to install a berber carpet. When they got to the stairs they had a problem. They said that the skirt board on one side is angled and will create gaps between the berber and the skirt board if they lay it as is. They then explained that we'd be able to pull off the molding and straighten it out no problem. We dutifully noded our heads and tried to remember what they said. Now that we are try to do it we a little confused as to what exactly we are trying to do and how to know when we are done.

So we have a right angle and are trying to straighten out the skirt board. If we just measure it at the back of a step and get it vertically 90 degrees is that good enough? Or do we need to measure elsewhere as well?

Thanks, Mark

Old 01-16-05, 05:36 PM
D
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Often times the skirtboards or stringers are nailed to the drywall and treated by carpenters as just a trim to protect the drywall. Stair building has become a lost art. If you can pry the skirting out from the drywall you can use a square to measure the straightness of the skirting. If there is a gap between the top of skirting and the wallboard you can cover it with a quarter round moulding.