Carpeting Stairs

Old 08-06-07, 01:45 PM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Carpeting Stairs

I have a basement (400 sq. feet) and then about 30 steps and 50 sq. feet of stair landings to carpet. We're going for something relatively cheap on the carpet - likely a Home Depot basic carpet for @ $1/sf. I was thinking of renting the tools and doing this myself (I've never done it before) until I found out that it would only cost about $300 for Home Depot to install the carpet in the basement. The trick, however, is that the stairs are considerably more expensive to install - $12.50/stair. I could do those, but then I'd be renting the same equipment and might as well do the basement myself as well. Altogether it seems that my cost is either about $600 myself (including tool rental) or $1500 installed by Home Depot (they're cheaper than Lowes). But if I could do the stairs WITHOUT the stretcher then I could do it myself and save a lot of money.

My stairs are the type that have no back to them. The carpet just wraps around. Do these small stairs really need to be power stretched? It seems unnecessary to me. It seems like I should be able to pull it as tight as possible around each stair and staple underneath. And if one starts to get loose somehow I can just reattach (since they're all independent) or get a new piece and do it again. Right?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts on this.

Old 08-06-07, 05:54 PM
S
We don't use a power stretcher on stairs any how. That's done with a knee kicker. It may be a bit of a challenge the first few, but it doesn't take long to get the hang of it. If you wish to tackle them, holler and we'll talk you through it.

Old 08-06-07, 08:05 PM
N
Carpeting Stairs

Smokey,

Do you mean a power stretcher isn't used on ANY stairs or just open stairs? Could I do the other stairs (going to my basement) with a knee kicker rental?

Old 08-07-07, 07:05 AM
S