Choosing carpet

Old 01-06-02, 02:53 PM
Visiting Guest
Question Choosing carpet

We are remodeling our home office and need to buy new carpet. I've been to several stores looking over samples, but I'm getting more and more confused. The salespersons I've dealt with don't seem to be very helpful. That is why I'm turning to the experts....all of you! Our office is very busy, with lots of foot traffic. The carpet needs to be durable and stain resistant. I want to get a low level loop carpet. Which is better, olefin, nylon or a blend? What other characteristics should I be looking for when buying carpet? And what about padding? I'd appreciate your help. Thank you in advance.

Old 01-06-02, 03:45 PM
SwEetAngL
Visiting Guest
Carpet

Chase,
I would suggest going to www.carpet.com, then click on Carpet University and that is where I found this information. There are great people on here who will give you much more expert advice, of course I'm not an expert, but I did think this site might be helpful to you. I found the following on this site and this is the kind of carpet I would suggest :

Level Loop Pile
Level loop pile is made by weaving even loops of yarn into carpet backing at both ends. This type of carpet is very strong and track resistance because of its strong loops. Higher loops create a more luxurious appearance. Level loop piles with short and densely packed loops are easy to clean. They prevent dirt from filtering into carpet. This type of carpet is ideal for high traffic areas.

Nylon