Aluminum ladders

Old 01-19-13, 10:50 AM
Aluminum ladders

Am I crazy for thinking that it's safe to replace a light fixture on an aluminum ladder when you turn off the circuit at the fuse box and test the light to make sure you turned it off properly? I wouldn't even mind getting insulated gloves. 99.9% of the time I wouldn't be doing electrical work and I'd worry about a fiberglass ladder cracking, especially if I accidentally knocked it on something. There's also the story about 20% of some company's ladders having microcracks from their manufacturing process. I'm not a pro and I may need to replace a light fixture every 20 years.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-19-13, 11:07 AM
Group Moderator
No electrician I know will work on an aluminum ladder... power off or not. As one web site says, "federal regulations are pretty clear that aluminum ladders cannot be used by electricians, period: "Portable metal or conductive ladders shall not be used for electrical work or where they may contact electrical conductors (29 CFR 1926.450(a)(11) or 1926.951(c)(1)).""

It's not unheard of to accidentally have power at what should be a dead receptacle because of improper wiring.

What you do as a homeowner is your business, it's your life that's at stake.

A "microcrack" in a fiberglass ladder is not likely to cause an OSHA/ANSI rated ladder to fail.

Old 01-19-13, 11:21 AM
Super Moderator
OSHA rules aside...it would take a very odd set of circumstances to cause any sort of injury from 120VAC. More likely to be hurt by falling off the ladder from jumping when you get bit.

Old 01-19-13, 01:11 PM
I'd just have a 2 foot jump because I ordered a 4 foot ladder for an apartment with 8 foot ceilings.

Old 01-19-13, 01:19 PM
Super Moderator
IMO 4 ft ladders are only useful in very specific situations...like maybe working on the lite over a vanity. I'd rather go 2 steps on a 6 footer than 2 steps on a 4 footer. Stability issue I guess?