Costume Help

Old 08-17-05, 08:20 PM
miccgil88
Visiting Guest
Costume Help

Hello,

To be honest, I'm new at sewing, but I have experienced people to help me.

I've been a long time fan of Superman and am desiging a costume using UnderArmour material. I had a few hold ups with the costume though:

1) The UnderArmour will allow me to have a shirt and pants, and i have omething for the red "overwear", but I was going to ask if anyone had a material that they would suggest that is like underarmour that I could use for a cape/the "S" shield? Maybe something a little heavier though.

2) Does anybody have any suggestions on how to design a good cape that will attach to a shirt a lot like in this picture (and how to attach if possible):
Shirt Attachment

And how to get a good flowing look to the cape like this:
Cape Waves

I know that second picture is a front point of view, but hopefully you could see the wavey motion of the cape (I'm thinking that that might come naturally from sewing it to the shirt)

Thank you very much. If anybody has seen Superman: The Movie with Christopher Reeve, that's the basic look I'm going for (to me, he is the real Superman). Thank you very very much for all of your help.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-19-05, 05:44 PM
As far as the fabric, I'm not sure. I'd have to check the fabric stores to see what types are available that are lightweighted, yet shiny like you're wanting for your costume.

It seems that the cape is shown to the shirt, possibly with interfacing applied underneath to give it the 'height' off the shirt at the neck. If the cape were able to wrap half way around you, but you gathered it at the neck (as shown in one of the images) it wouldn't allow the cape to hang in front of your shoulders too much. I think a lightweight fabric would have to be used for this project.