New Quilter

Old 10-19-07, 07:14 PM
New Quilter

Im a beginner quilter (self taught) and I am almost to the step of sewing on the batting. Any pointers? All ideas are welcome....this is my first quilt so Im interested in hearing many ways.
Thanks so much.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-19-07, 07:33 PM
Allow for batting to be bigger than quilt top and smaller than backing. The overlap is necessary if you have any pull or if the edge has moved. Pin the quilt together in long rows to hold it together. Then tack with colored thread so you can easily see the threads when it is time to remove them. If tacking on sewing machine or by hand, use long running basting stitch along rows of pins.

Old 10-20-07, 10:59 AM
Super Moderator
If you haven't already done so, you need to add a layer of lining, so you'll have the batting sandwiched between the fabric and lining and I would have them all the same size but add at least 10% extra to each for takeup. You can always cut off any excess but you can't add. You could just add lots of pins and remove them as you get to them or do as Twelvepole said and either baste with tack marks or use long running stitches. Another handy tool is to buy a "Quilter's basting gun" and just shoot the fasteners here and there to hold it together, then cut them out when you're finished sewing. You can get this at Joann's Fabrics or other places that sell sewing supplies.
Now you can either add a back fabric and pillowcase it or add a back fabric and quilt together and add a binding all around. They also sell special presser feet for quilting that make the job easier (if you don't have them already).

Old 12-01-07, 09:18 PM
new quilter,new ideas

Originally Posted by wenandchuck View Post
Im a beginner quilter (self taught) and I am almost to the step of sewing on the batting. Any pointers? All ideas are welcome....this is my first quilt so Im interested in hearing many ways.
Thanks so much.