What to put over subfloor?

Old 10-28-02, 11:49 AM
Looneyfarm
Visiting Guest
Question What to put over subfloor?

We had a new addition put on and I'm finishing it myself. Right now there is just the OSB subfloor. The finished floor will have vinyl put down. Do I put down a layer of felt and cover it with another layer of osb, then the vinyl? Do I need to put luaun board too? I have 1 1/2 inches between the subfloor and bottom of drywall. I've never done this before, help!

Looneyfarm

Sponsored Links
Old 10-28-02, 04:59 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your about to have a mess! You need to call a pro before it is too late.

OSB, or I call it Beaver barf, is cheap junk! Vinyl needs a good hardboard underlayment, not luan either.
http://www.sureply.com/
http://www.tecply.com/

Old 11-03-02, 01:46 AM
Zyloth
Visiting Guest
WOW!!! 1 1/2" between floor and drywall!! I would fill that gap with something (drywall or wood) so you will have some support for the bottom of your baseboard.

Buy good quality plywood smooth on one side. Screw down over the OSB gluing the edges to help prevent movement between pieces. Fill any gaps between pieces with a recommended floor patch. Then install.

If this is a big room that is going to require seams in the vinyl, I would suggest hiring an installer or install a vinyl tile product.

Good Luck!!!!

Old 11-03-02, 06:18 AM
Looneyfarm
Visiting Guest