Vapor Barrier

Old 11-27-02, 11:45 AM
DanS
Visiting Guest
Vapor Barrier

I am going to glue 3/8" solid wood on our first floor (BR-111 Industparque). We're sitting on a concrete slab, so I have been strongly encouraged to lay down a vapor barrier. One thing that I haven't seen explained is the process of adhearing the barrier to the slab, and then what, if any, special tricks for glueing the wood to the barrier. Any hints, articles etc?

Dan

Old 11-27-02, 11:58 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cool

Dan,
I'm not a pro at this, but I believe that you're going to have to lay down the vapor barrier, then concrete-nail plywood down over it for a subfloor, and THEN glue your finish flooring down to the plywood.
There are some good pros in here that can help you when they come along.
Good luck!
Mike

Old 11-27-02, 07:30 PM
SteveOfloors
Visiting Guest
You need to find out if moisture is a problem in your concrete. the first step is to cut a couple of 3 Ft square pieces of 6-8 mil plastic, and duct tape them down in a couple spots on the slab. Let this sit overnight to a day or so to see if moisture condense's on the plastic. If it does, you'll need to perform a calciun cholride test to determine how much moisture vapor is present. If none develops, you're in good shape. At the last Mannington hardwood seminar, they told us that if we could strike a match on the slab, then the floor was dry enough to use their Mannington adhesive to adhere their floors. But since yours is a solid, does the maker, BR 111 suggest one?

A vapor barrier would be 6-8 mil plastic, glued down with the same adhesive you will use on the flooring, Use a 1/16" notched trowel, spread glue, layout plastic, roll out, and puncture any bubbles, then install wood. Whew! Hope this helps.

Old 11-28-02, 06:36 AM
H
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hey Steve: