BellaWood Quality Issue

Old 08-14-03, 01:47 PM
Srawleigh
Visiting Guest
Angry BellaWood Quality Issue

Has anyone used Bellawood Prefinished HW Flooring. I had one of their recommended contractors install it about two weeks ago.

I have serious cracking or splitting of the boards. RIght now it is about 20 boards in a 300 sq ft. area. Is this normal?

I can understand a few cracked boards, but not 20. I am sure if I get on my hands and knees and look carefully I can find another 5-10. I am new to HW flooring, but this seems quite high. The VP of customer service is giving me the run around telling me that he will only repair the cracked boards.

This does not seem sufficient since I paid for their highest quality product Bellawood, 3 1/4 Red Oak Select and Better. My wife and I want the floor replaced, since we are concerned that we received a defective lot.

I purchased Bellawood for its advertised 50 year wear warranty. WIth three young children, I thought this would be beneficial.

Any feedback on your experience with Bellawood or a similar problem would be appreciated.

Old 08-15-03, 03:45 AM
Locy's Hardwood
Visiting Guest
Are there gaps between the boards or are the boards themselves split? If the boards themselves are split they should have been caught by the installer during installation. If they split after installation then i would have the floor inspected by a seperate inspecter to give you recomendations about how to proceed.

Phil

Old 08-15-03, 07:17 AM
Srawleigh
Visiting Guest
Bellawood Quality?

Definitely split after the installation. The problem seems to be growing. This morning I found another 6 boards.

Old 08-15-03, 05:51 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Formerly Husky floors. Wonder why the name change?
When the word got around about Husky, they had to change the name to begin selling hardwood again, because of their bad rep.

I bet it was cheap though. Easy on the pocket during the initial purchase.