Layout for Hardwood Floor

Old 02-24-04, 05:55 PM
LeFloor
Visiting Guest
Question Layout for Hardwood Floor

This is my first attempt at laying hardwood flooring and would like to verify my layout. I am going to lay tongue & groove flooring on a wood sub floor in a very open space, the foyer, dining room and great room and then down a hallway, approximately 27' x 18' with the floor joist running the 27' length. I would really like to run the wood length wise with the 27' but that would be positioning the hardwood parallel with the floor joist. The rooms are only separated with 2 large archways. If it is better I can run the flooring perpendicular to the floor joist. I just don't think it will look as attractive. Comments? Because the room is so long I saw instruction that suggest that you start in the middle of the floor with the first 2 courses groove to groove with a piece of molding in the place of the tongue. I guess this is suppose to allow the floor to expand and contract from the center out. Does this sound correct? Is it suggested to always lay a vapor barrier? Does anyone have any other suggestions or hints. I would certainly appreciate the guidance.

Old 02-24-04, 06:14 PM
rs0
Visiting Guest
you can run your wood the same direction as your joist as long as you have a 3/4" subfloor underneath...and you woudl start on the longest wall....if you want to start the wood in the middle of the room you can i'm not sure what you mean by a piece of molding but if go groove to groove you have to put tongues between then and you should be able to get them at any flooring store.

Old 02-25-04, 04:53 AM
LeFloor
Visiting Guest
Thanks for the reply. The subfloor is 3/4 inch but this is the first that I have heard to go parallel with joist if the subfloor is adequate. Which I guess 3/4 is ok. As far as the molding - I am talking about making my own tongue with molding. This is per the interactive video on the DoItYourself site.

Anyone else have an opinion?