Purchase, Preparation, and Help

Old 10-09-00, 06:59 AM
Visiting Guest
Arrow

I'm looking for help in converting a family room (10x14) that has carpet in it currently, to hardwood flooring.

Some details about the room. It has one exterior wall with sliding glass doors to the backyard. It has a gas log fireplace that provides limited heat. It is a main room for family gatherings, tv, etc (it gets used a lot).

Preparation...Do i need to lay a subfloor over the old sub floor, do i need a vapour barrier, etc.
Purchasing... What types of flooring are available in my area. (southern ontario, canada). What are the pros and cons of the different types.
What costs should I expect.
What pitfalls should I watch out for.
Would I be better off hiring a contractor to do the job if the flooring is really expesive?
Is there a web site i can go to to find answers to these questions.

I realize these are a lot of questions, but this is my first time.

Thanks in advance for your help.
steve

Old 10-09-00, 08:39 AM
Visiting Guest
Please provide two more pieces of information: (1) What is the existing subfloor made of? (2) What's under the floor (e.g., crawl space, slab, finished basement, unfinished basement)?

Old 10-09-00, 01:02 PM
Visiting Guest
Cool

Aside from what John has mentioned there are several websites that can help. nofma.org, woodfloorsonline.com, floorboards.com, and hometime.com can give you a great headstart.

Old 10-10-00, 04:04 PM
Visiting Guest
John & Ken: Thanks for your quick responses.

John: Underneath the carpeting i'm insure but i suspect it has a sub floor maybe 1/4" or 3/8" thick looks like some type of rough finish that doesn't seem very good quality (sorry thats the best i can describe it). That's judging from what was in the kitchen floor when it was redone about a year ago by contractors.

Underneath the room is an unfinished basement.

Ken: I haven't looked at the web sites that you mentioned but will later on today (10-10)

Steve