Laminate floor around door frame

Old 11-09-05, 02:22 PM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Laminate floor around door frame

I have finally made it to my first door closet door in my hallway.

The closet is carpeted and I would like to keep it that way.

As for cutting the door jam for the laminate floor, do I cut the whole bottom of the frame and all, or just the vertical peice of "trim" in the center of the door frame?

If all I cut is the "trim", how do I maintain my 1/4" spacing?

Im tired. Am I making sense?

Thanks... Any help is appreciated

Chuck

Old 11-09-05, 05:08 PM
D
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
I am no expert but I have had experience with those door jambs...

If I understand you correctly... (you're talking about undercutting right?)
If you undercut along the frame/jamb (sorry, not too familiar w/correct terms) where any of the laminate will lay and you need your gap...undercut all the way through it so that the pad and laminate will lay right underneath it and still have the expansion gap required. So basically the laminate will lay right under what what you cut. You don't need to cut where the carpet lays (so I'm thinking not the whole frame/jamb).

Make sure when you close that closet door your carpet doesn't show through.

Hope this helps, but see what others have to say.

Old 11-09-05, 07:33 PM
N
Originally Posted by DIYADDICT
I am no expert but I have had experience with those door jambs...

If I understand you correctly... (you're talking about undercutting right?)
If you undercut along the frame/jamb (sorry, not too familiar w/correct terms) where any of the laminate will lay and you need your gap...undercut all the way through it so that the pad and laminate will lay right underneath it and still have the expansion gap required. So basically the laminate will lay right under what what you cut. You don't need to cut where the carpet lays (so I'm thinking not the whole frame/jamb).