plywood subfloor is more unlevel than I thought

Old 12-05-05, 06:35 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
plywood subfloor is more unlevel than I thought

Are there any better or more effecient ways to try and flatten the subfloor?

After ripping everything up and checking the floor for flatness. It is worse than I anticipated. I bought roofing felt and shingles. I am not sure which is the real cause but is most likely both. If it was shoddy construction or settling of the place. Is actually a townhouse in a complex.

Well actually now that I think about it I have no experience with this, so no idea if my place is that bad or not. But essentially there are A LOT of ups and downs on the floor. The floor falls away slightly at all walls, this should be easy to fix with the shingles and felt. There are two highspots that run from all the way across the townhouse. I guess I will have to try to sand these down a bit.

Is the solution just a lot of hard work on my part by sanding and using the felt/shingle technique or is there another option? Does it make a difference which way I try to fix the flatness? I imagine it would be easier to raise the lower spots with felt and shingles than to sand down the highspots without getting any large power tools.

Does the floor being actually level matter?? Flatness is more important correct? Within reason of course.

Old 12-05-05, 12:45 PM
T
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Flat subfloors are important for proper flooring installation. Sand the high spots and fill the low spots with a self-leveling compound. You can check flatness with a long straight edge like a 2x4 or by having someone help you stretch a string across the floor.

Old 12-05-05, 03:27 PM
M
Degree of flatness and what you do about it can depend on what your laying. What are yo laying?

Old 12-06-05, 03:24 AM
J
John, its best to sand the high spots first before you tackle the low areas.