To Get Started (Laminate Floor Installation)

Old 04-28-06, 03:15 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
To Get Started (Laminate Floor Installation)

I'm in the process of rebuilding my home from damages caused by Hurricane Katrina last year. I'm wanting to install laminated flooring for my living room and hallway. Even though I can hire someone to do this, I believe I'll have to do this on my own if I want a decent job done. I'm an Electrician, so I'm not totally ignorant about tools or measurements. I hired a crew to do sheetrock and paint and the money I spent and the work that they ended up with, I feel I can do a better job by taking my time and being thorough. Everyone here is blow & go and not taking the time to do it right. Is there anyone, who can help me get started. I've already pulled up all the tackboards from the carpet strips and cleaned the floor area as best as I can get it. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 04-28-06, 04:27 PM
T
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
You will first need to shop around and take a look at laminate (plastic) and engineered wood (laminated wood with real wood veneer). The floating floor products are popular for easier DIY installation. There are also nail and staple down and glue down products. You will need to pick a product that offers the type of installation with which you feel comfortable. You will also want to buy the best quality that your budget will allow in a look that compliments your decor. Usually it is recommended that you go with a name-brand manufacturer that offers good, better, best levels of quality and installation and select the best you can afford.

Each manufacturer tends to have its own very specific instructions for subfloor prep, vapor retarders over concrete, underlayment, acclimation to temperature and humidity before installation, and installation procedures. Follow these carefully to maintain warranty.

Old 04-28-06, 04:31 PM
D
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts