substitute for roofer's felt??

Old 05-23-06, 09:20 AM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
substitute for roofer's felt??

Hi All,

I’ve got a couple of spots that squeak on my laminate floor. Since it’s glueless I was going to take it apart and apply some #30 roofers felt to the low spot. The spot isn’t very big, and I don’t really want to buy a whole roll of felt. I know there was a thread a while ago about substitutes for felt, but I can’t seem to find it.

What else would you all recommend?

Thanks !

EDIT: On second thought, it might be a better idea to just lay down a thin layer of leveling compound. I've got plenty of that left over. Let it dry over night and go from there.

Last edited by fuente; 05-23-06 at 06:13 PM.
Old 05-24-06, 01:06 PM
D
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Just my 2 cents and I'm not a pro but after reading up on roofer's felt...isn't it to help retard moisture transfer?...not for leveling??? If so...

Old 05-24-06, 10:33 PM
I put a new vinyl floor in a bathroom a couple weeks ago. There was a 2 inch sag in the floor. From one side of the toilet to the other, there was a 1.5 inch drop. I filled it with shingles, then put 5/8 plywood over top, then lino. Worked wonderful.

If your low spot is deep, I wonder if shingles would work?

Now that Ive used the shingles, I'm sold. I tried levelling compound first but it was going to take days to finish because you can only go 1/4 thick at a time (according to the instructions). Fixing the floor from below wasn't an option in this case but I wonder if it this is something you have considered?

Old 05-24-06, 11:06 PM
F
it's not really a sag; I installed a new plywood subfloor and was within the flatness spec. Who knows..I may pull it up and find out it's a screw that's come loose from the subfloor. It may be that simple.

On the other hand, I've got plenty of shingles.

Thanks for the tip !

Old 05-25-06, 07:57 AM