Flooring Nailer/Stapler Recommendations?

Old 07-13-06, 11:12 AM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Flooring Nailer/Stapler Recommendations?

So 1,500 sq ft of 3/4 inch Brazilian Cherry is getting delivered Saturday. Since it has to acclimate, fortunately I have a few days to make a decision on flooring nailers.

Harbor Freight has a no name pneumatic stapler that fires 2 inch staples for about $170. Menards has a Bostitch that fires the same staple for $460.

I have a Bostitch brad nailer which I love. I'm sure the Bostitch flooring nailer will work better/last longer, etc, and if I was a contractor doing floors all the time, there'd be no queston which one I'd buy. But while this is a big project, once it's done, I don't expect to be doing it again any time soon, so the question in my mind is whether the no name will do a competent job.

I would welcome any opinions anyone has. Thanks!

Joe

Old 07-13-06, 09:19 PM
H
Bump...

Anybody have any thoughts on this? Thanks.

Old 07-15-06, 12:34 PM
C
Why are you buying a floor nailer for one job? Go rent a Bostich.
Skip the staples and use floor nails.

Old 07-15-06, 07:40 PM
H
Because the one job is 1500 square feet and I haven't done this before, so I'm expecting it to take me several days at the very least. So by the time I rented a tool for as long as I'll need it, I might as well have bought one.

Why do you recommend nails vs staples? From the reading I've done, either seem to be considered acceptable.

The renting vs buying issue is more relevant if I buy the less expensive tool. If people think I'd be better off with the Bostitch, then it might end up being cheaper to rent it. But that's what I'm trying to figure out.

Old 07-16-06, 05:10 AM
C