Bowing of Floating Engineered Hardwood


  #1  
Old 09-11-06, 06:18 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Bowing of Floating Engineered Hardwood

Has anyone experienced bowing problems installing a floating hardwood floor? I recently purchased about 100 sq ft of Bruce Locking hardwood floor (from lowes). As per the instructions, I made sure my subfloor is level and placed down the proper vapor barrier & underlayment. I also left the strips out for a few days and mixed the boxes together.

However... when I start putting down rows of strips, the 1st row down (adjacent to wall) and row being worked on seem to bow upwards and not lay flat on the floor. Its strange because the middle rows are ok and lay flat.

I stopped the job because I was unsure if I had made an error. Is the molding/trim supposed to apply pressure to keep the 2 sides down? Perhaps I the joints aren't perfect and I shouldn't have mixed the planks from various boxes. Should I glue down one of the bowed sides? I live in New Orleans, so has the humidity ruined them already?

Thanx in advance for any help!
 
  #2  
Old 09-13-06, 09:14 AM
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,073
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The outside humidity shouldn't have any effect on what the interiors controlled humidity is and maintained at.

If you do not have climate control inside your home, laminate is not the flooring for you.
 
  #3  
Old 09-17-06, 07:49 PM
dkpbxman's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NYS
Posts: 167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Perry:
How extensive a climate control system is needed? Is your ordinary thermostat enough?
 
  #4  
Old 09-18-06, 07:00 AM
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,073
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
All I can say is that a fairly constant humidity level needs to be maintained.

The boards are bowing, because they are gaining moisture content. Meaning the interior of the home is not acclimated to what the flooring manufacturer requires it to be.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: