Dupont Real Touch Flooring and Concrete Subfloor


  #1  
Old 09-24-06, 05:26 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dupont Real Touch Flooring and Concrete Subfloor

Hi. Very help forum here!

I am researching in preparing to lay laminate flooring myself. Sometimes it seems doable, then sometimes daunting!

First Q----I am looking at using the Dupont Real Touch laminate. It has the pre-installed foam underlayment on each piece. Is this good enough for laying on concrete? or do I still need to put down the foam rolls? (I can't find a concrete answer on this at Dupont..pardon the pun

Second Q---regarding my concrete subfloor. It appears that around the wall, there is about a 5 inch concrete section, and then a space, and then the concrete slab (like a slab within a concrete frame....make any sense???). There is roughness at the cracks' meeting on each side, which I'll need to ground down, but the "crack" is only .5" or so wide....Do I need to fill that crack in? or can I just lay the laminate normally?? I think it'll be ok based on what I have researched, but I wanted your opinions.

Thanks so much!
 
  #2  
Old 09-25-06, 03:59 PM
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5,073
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You need to make sure the substrate meets the standard 1/8 inch in 6 feet, for flatness requirements.

You must use a plastic moisture barrier over the concrete, first.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-06, 08:03 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Thanks for your help!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: