cracked concrete slab


  #1  
Old 11-05-06, 07:03 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 60
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Angry cracked concrete slab

Well we bought laminate flooring hoping to replace our carpet. After I started pulling up carpet I found our concrete slab has a crack in it 6 feet long. It starts by our back outside wall and continues until it disappears and/or continues below our sheet vinyl flooring in the dining room.
I have posted 4 pics at http://photos.yahoo.com/mannysherri
The crack is 1/8 inch wide. How do I go about fixing this?
I checked the floor and it's not level in this area. This was a new house we moved into last April.This house is built on a concrete slab and we live in North Carolina.We bought Shaw Laminate flooring.
 
  #2  
Old 11-05-06, 07:18 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Where the cows roam, CA
Posts: 2,131
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
This previous thread should help you

http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=186561&highlight=cracks+cement+floor
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-06, 07:33 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 60
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks, but that deals with a different type of concrete that is elevated. Mine is on the ground. I'm concerned about moisture also.
I checked in this area only and I have high and low spots. How do you get rid of the high spots? This sounds like I'm getting beyond Do it yourself and maybe have a contractor look at it??
 
  #4  
Old 11-05-06, 07:58 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Where the cows roam, CA
Posts: 2,131
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Here's another previous thread about cracks in your subfloor:

http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=274846&highlight=cracks+concrete

As far as the high and low spots, you'll have to grind the high spots and fill the low spots. I haven't had experience with this issue so I'll have to refer to you this previous thread as well. Though it's about installing engineered wood flooring, you will still need the same "flatness" on you subfloor:

http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=245099&highlight=high+low+spots+concrete

As far as moisture issues, I take it you bought the moisture barrier required from the manufacturer right? You'll can test the subfloor and flooring with a moisture meter. Your subfloor should typically contain no more than 10-12% moisture content.
 

Last edited by DIYaddict; 11-05-06 at 08:06 AM. Reason: More info
  #5  
Old 11-05-06, 08:08 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 60
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I think I'll call the builder of my new house and see if he would like to resolve this.My One year warranty is up but this is poor quality.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: