leveling floor?

Old 11-26-06, 03:16 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question leveling floor?

Hi,
I need to replace the flooring in a bedroom. It's an older addition to the house without a basement below it. The floor is sloped to the outside wall and uneven in other areas. I would guess it slopes probably 1-2" total from one side of the room to the other. it had a false floor over it but was very wavy and creaky...I've since removed that...I need to level it and I have been getting conflicting opinions from people.

what is the best way?

should I use a leveling compound (I have no experience using it) or should I shim before putting the new plywood down? Any other ideas or tips would be great! I haven't actually finalized using laminate or carpet...but I would like a level floor either way.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-29-06, 06:21 AM
Questions, questions

1st, what is the floor made of? what is the build-up like?
2nd, What is the support structure like? (2x10's, 16" o.c., etc.)
3rd, how out of level is the support structure? (sometimes, it is only the subfloor that is out of level and the joists are still good)
4th, look around the room and get a visual of how the room/house has settled over time. If you jack the floor, how much damage will you creat in other places?

Old 11-29-06, 10:09 PM
thanks for the reply. I do not have access below the addition for this room so I'm not sure what kind of support structure there is. I'm down to the original floor at this time which is plywood over what looks like 1x4's? maybe...set out like slats if that makes any sense to you...

It looks like the addition has just settled like this and I am not that interested in gaining access under it to jack it up...it's winter and that sounds like no fun! Hope that answers your questions... thanks

Old 11-30-06, 07:17 AM
My grandfather would be under the house, jacking on something, every spring. and sometimes in the fall.