Installing laminate flooring in "J"

Old 01-17-07, 04:14 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Talking Installing laminate flooring in "J"

Hi everyone I just joined and this is my first attempt at getting some help. I am in the middle of installing about 800 sq. ft. of laminate flooring in my basement. It is the uniclic, floating floor style. The issue is that my basement is kind of a J shape (not an L). If you can picture this I started at the top of the J laying planks left to right. I am now at the portion where it moves to the left and do not know how to handle the portion that turns back up. This would require me to install the flooring "backwards". As I laid the flooring in the tall straight portion I would align the long edge of the plank at 45 deg and snap in place. I will not be able to do this in the small hook portion. I do not want to add any transition piece. please help. Thanks in advance.

Old 01-17-07, 04:45 PM
S
You can't install the butt end of a plank to the side of another, If that's what I understand you to be saying. The locking part on the ends is different than the sides. If you don't want transition pieces, snap it all together and it will all go the same direction, yet appear to change direction in the different sections of your area. I've seen Carpets Done Wright tell some folks that the locking mechanism can be removed in some instances and the boards glued together, but I don't know if this would work in your case. He will most likely check in later and let you know.

Old 01-17-07, 06:20 PM
I
I assume you mean that you will now be working from the opposite side of the room, not a problem,the board will snap in, you are not working backwards just different. the board will fit different than what you got used to but it will still fit.Lift up on the board as you slip in the lock it will work..