Installing Lock 'n Seal Laminate Flooring

Old 03-11-07, 08:54 AM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installing Lock 'n Seal Laminate Flooring

I have a few questions for those of you who have installed this type of flooring from Sam's Club. I'm a TOTAL novice here, so please be patient Thanks!

#1) I will be installing over concrete. The warranty says that I must have " a 6 mil clear plastic sheet must be laid as a vapor barrier before installing Lock 'n Seal laminate flooring" or the warranty will void. My question is, what is this, where can I purchase, it, and how much should I expect to spend? Do I need to buy a Lock 'n Seal brand?

#2) The instructions say to leave 3/8" - 5/8" spacers between the floor and the wall in order to leave room for expansion. What exactly does this mean? Am I supposed to leave a 3-5/8" area between the floor and the wall permanently? Won't things get into that gap?

#3) Moldings - What do most people choose to do as edges around their floors? Do they put floor molding to transition from floor to wall, do they have those baseboard moldings go over the floor? I'm not too familiar with how it is supposed to look, so any help here would be great.

#4) Tools - A lot of floor laying kits come with this "block" that you use to hit the floors together (I guess). Is this necessary? What exactly is this?

#5) Edges - What are you supposed to do with the laminates that run up against the walls? Do you cut the little connections off the edges to make a smooth transition from floor to wall, or does this play into the molding and spacer thing I asked about earlier?

Thank you guys so much! I know this will be easy once I get into it, I just don't want to start without knowing what I'm doing first. Like I said, this is my first time, but I want it to look good and be done right. Thanks again!

Old 03-11-07, 10:18 AM