Removing Excess Stain from Hardwood Floor

Old 10-01-07, 09:12 AM
O
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Removing Excess Stain from Hardwood Floor

I allowed my wife and her mom to apply a Minwax stain to the hardwood floor I had just finished sanding. I read the directions - since I am no expert - and explained to them to apply it then wipe away the excess after 15 minutes. I returned to the room about 20 minutes later and the entire floor was coated in stain. What are the reprecussions of not removing the excess stain? Is there anything I can do to fix the problem at this point.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-01-07, 03:36 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 293 Votes on 260 Posts
The biggest problem with not removing the excess stain is it is hard for the wood to soak up all the stain and what lays on top doesn't dry very well. Often when the sealer is applied it will start to lift some of the excess stain

I usually wipe off the excess stain in 5-10 minutes, sometimes less. At the 20 minute mark you could have wiped with a wet thinner rag and probably done ok but I'd be leary of doing so now.

How does the stain look? what type of finish are you planning to use?

Old 10-02-07, 07:40 AM
O
I am happy with how the stain looks. But you are right, it is "gummy" If you touch it, it almost feels wet, but nothing really comes up.

I used the Minwax stain and it recommends using their Polyurethane product. That is what I bought and that is what I am planning on using. At this point it seems I should just apply the polyurethane and see what happens.

I am just really disappointed because I went out of my way and put a lot of time and effort into sanding the floor correctly - and I finally got the hang of it after 2 days and a lot of back pain - only to have it mucked up by my wife and her impatient mom. They are always rushing to get something done. I guess I should have done it myself. -done venting-

Old 10-02-07, 09:38 AM
O
Response from Minwax