Plywood sub floor - Nails or Screws

Old 05-19-08, 09:18 PM
Plywood sub floor - Nails or Screws

What type of fastener should I use for installing 3/4" plywood on top of floor joists? Should I use screws or nails? What type? What length? And what spacing?

I plan to use 2" deck screws and some sub floor glue with 5 screws per middle joist and 8 screws one the plywood ends. Is there any problem with that?

Sponsored Links
Old 05-20-08, 06:55 PM
I'm no pro but that sounds right on target. I would use screws; they don't work loose. Might check out APA site for more technical info:
http://www.buildernewsmag.com/viewnews.pl?id=329
also; a lot of info at:
http://www.gp.com/build/literature.aspx
Bob

Old 05-21-08, 04:08 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
If you use a good subfloor adhesive, it won't really matter about the fastener, as the adhesive will be your major holding agent. I use galvanized ring shank #8 nails spaced about every 8 inches, but using the screws will work just fine, just a lot more work. It is your project, so it is your call. Good luck with the install and let us know if we can help further.

Old 08-05-08, 09:31 AM
Subfloor screws

Most of the quality home builders in my area use Grabber Screws and a Superdrive collated screw gun for a speedy installation. The C8175L3YZ is a #8 by 1-3/4" zinc coated fastener and is the screw of choice. Along with some GSFA subfloor adheasive you will have no squeaks. Go to www.grabberman for more info.

Old 07-02-09, 09:25 AM
Question Replacement of 3/8-inch particle board

In preparation of install tile in my house I have discovered that the subfloor consists of two layers -- 3/8-inch bc plywood and 3/8-inch particle board, 3/4-inch total depth. In replacing the particle board can I use 3/8-inch bc plywood, glued and screwed to the first layer --- would like to retain same depth of subfloor? The floor joists are 2/10 on 12-inch centers with every third joise doubled.

Thanks in advance

Old 07-02-09, 01:20 PM