Preparing subfloor questions..please help

Old 08-03-08, 09:26 AM
Preparing subfloor questions..please help

hi there. I am planning on installing either hardwood or engineered hardwood in my living room and hallway. Currently there is vinyl with 1/4" ply underlayment in the hallway, and carpet that I have removed in the living room. So there is a 1/4'' difference in the floor height from the subfloor in the living room to the vinyl/plyfloor hallway. I would like it all even before I lay floor. What should I do? Should I add 1/4" plyfloor underlayment to the area that was carpeted, or should I remove the vinyl and the plyfloor underlayment from the hall way? The hallway leads to the kitchen which is also vinyl but I would like to have that tiled. So the hardwood or enginneered floor will eventually lead into a tiled kitchen. What would you suggest? I would like to do this myself but I've never done anything like this before. (only installed laminate in the past).

Sponsored Links
Old 08-03-08, 06:22 PM
i would remove the hallway and do real hardwood. after the tile, i'm thinking it will come out about even.

Old 08-05-08, 09:09 AM
First thing that I suggest you to do is to chose the tile that you are going to install in the kitchen. This is due to the varying thickness's of tile(s) that are available. Prior to installing the tile in the kitchen you need to lay a 1/4" Luan subfloor (glued and nailed down) over the top of the current vinyl floor. There is no need to REMOVE the linoleum in the kitchen, but simply you need to install a plywood (Luan 1/4") subfloor down in order to facilitate cement underlayment for the tile to be installed.

So... these are the steps I would take, and in this order...

1- chose a tile and ask the store to allow you take one piece home with you to facilitate taking some measuments. Also ask for a scrap piece of Solid 3/4" hardwood (doesn't matter what kind!), and a scrap piece of 5/8" engineered flooring.