laminate flooring advice for a newbie

Old 12-30-08, 12:07 PM
Post laminate flooring advice for a newbie

I'm preparing to replace the rugs in my 1 bedroom apartment and put in laminate flooring. I measured that I'll need a little under 500 sq feet.

My first thought was to look under the rugs and see if I already had wood flooring that can be repaired. Here is what I saw:

I am guessing that it can't be repaired within my budget ($1k).

I am thinking of buying this one:
Lumber Liquidators: 8MM Royal Mahogany Laminate

I'm not sure if I can find something cheaper in that color?

So what do I need to keep in mind when installing laminate flooring? I've never done this before but I am getting help from a friend who has done it once before.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-09, 01:38 PM
I guess my post is too broad. Here are some specific questions.

1. Do I remove the wood boards under the carpets? I guess they were put there to level out the carpeting?

2. I need to leave 10 mm of spacing around the installation to allow for movement?

3. I don't need underlayment because this laminate brings its own right?

Old 01-02-09, 06:59 PM
1) Yes, remove the wood. Your subfloor needs to be fairly flat before you lay down the laminate. The instructions will give you specifics.

2) Somewhere between 1/4" and 1/2 " (7mm - 13mm), again, instructions will give you specifics.

3) Correct. Do not add additional underlayment.

Good luck

Jeff

Old 01-02-09, 07:04 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
hold up a minute.

Some laminates come with a attach padding underlayment, but not a moisture barrier. You need a moisture barrier too, which is not attached. Just simple 6 mil poly or 15 roofing felt will work.

Old 01-05-09, 11:05 AM
Thank you both for your replies. I'm sorry that I have more questions even though you mentioned that a lot of my questions will be answered on the instructions after I buy the laminate flooring.

In reply to Praxius 1)