7" wide brazilian cherry challenges?

Old 01-05-09, 09:27 PM
7" wide brazilian cherry challenges?

I am getting 3/4" solid 7" wide brazilian cherry flooring. to be installed over above grade plywood subfloor, pneumatic nailer. I have installed 3" and 5" products in the past.

Are there any special challenges with the 7"? Will it be harder to work with/straighten? I would think that the wider it is, the nicer it will look, but I remember reading that wide planks are harder to work with. I am a fairly knowledgable amateur. I don't mind a small challenge, but I don't want to be surprised with something beyond my comfort zone. I am looking for someone who has worked with very hard wood like braz cherry (jatoba) at 7" widths to tell me that either it was no biggie, or that it was a horrible experience that they would not do again.

Also how much should I allow for waste? I was thinking 20%, but the seller is recommending only 5%.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-12-09, 12:29 AM
The wider the plank, the greater the chances for cupping and crowning. Wider planks are more dimensionally unstable than less narrow planks. Planks greater than 4" tend to have greater susceptibility to problems. 7" wide planks should be glued with urethane adhesive and nailed. Most recommend additional top nailing. There are many decorative nails available for top nailing.

The standard calculation for waste for wood flooring installation is 5%. This takes into consideration loss for cuts and perhaps the rejected board or two.

Another expectation is that the Brazilian Cherry that comes out of the box will not look like the sample at the store. Brazilian Cherry is very photo sensitive, meaning that it darkens with exposure to light. When Brazilian Cherry is first cut from timber, boards are almost salmon color with dark streaks. The more light, the deeper and richer the reds in the wood. There will be natural variation in coloring and dark streaking in the planks.

Old 01-12-09, 05:06 AM
thanks 12pole.