Proper moisture test on concrete

Old 06-22-09, 07:40 PM
Proper moisture test on concrete

What is the proper way to do a moisture test on a young (1 year old) concrete floor? My husband and I are building our own house in Tampa Florida and I want to lay the floor. The house is slab on grade and I want to put down about 1000sqft of engineered hardwood. What is considered to be an acceptable amount of moisture? If there is too much moisture is this type of flooring a bad idea? I am a complete newbie as far as wood floors are concerned and I have many more questions. But I thought I would start here with this question.
Any help is appreciated.
Dorothy

Sponsored Links
Old 06-23-09, 04:49 AM
There are meters that will tell you how much moisture you have.

Old 06-23-09, 10:15 AM
Meters aren't very accurate, but they are good at identifying a potential problem...basically, you can use them for a "green/red, go/no-go" type of conclusion. For accuracy, the best test for a homeowner is a Calcium Chloride (CaCl) test. Here's some info from Taylor Tools, and their kits are usually easy to find in every part of the country.
Calcium Chloride Moisture Test Kit

The slab needs to be free from contaminants and sealers. Grind the areas where the tests will be placed. 3 test areas for the first 1000 s/f. Follow the directions closely. As a general rule, 3lbs of moisture emissions per 1000sf per 24hrs is the limit for direct glue down (don't worry,once completed, you can send the kit back to Taylor and they will do the calculations for you). 3lbs-7lbs and you should use a vapor retarder. Above 7lbs is normally considered unacceptable for wood floors.

Old 06-23-09, 07:48 PM
Originally Posted by tn.floorguy View Post