laminate on old parqua wood floor

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-10, 04:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ks
Posts: 3
laminate on old parqua wood floor

I am getting ready to lay laminate wood flooring in my kitchen and dinning room and right now the house has what Ive heard is (spelling) parqua wood flooring, they are I think 10x10 squares. They floor is in good shape and not pulling up anywhere. I was wondering if the laminate can be put over that or does it need to be ripped out. If need to be ripped out it has the glue adisive under it which I dont know how hard is to get off to get the plywood under it level. Suggestions and tips would be a big help. Oh and there is carpet going in the rest and can it be layed over as well?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-27-10, 06:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Little Rock Ar.
Posts: 292
Flooring?

If you are referring to "Parquet flooring" then yes you could lay laminate over the top of it if the floor is in good shape. NO, NO you cant lay laminate over carpet!! Pull up carpet, remove tack strips and start with a clean floor.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-10, 06:49 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dirty South, USA
Posts: 109
Exclamation

gqlefty....read the post again. I think they say that carpet is going IN, not already there. Yes, the carpet can be layed directly over the parquet flooring.

As far as the laminate, let's not jump in too fast here. What is the subfloor under the parquet? If it is a wood subfloor, you are fine to lay the laminate over the parquet, assuming the parquet is sound and the floor is flat.

If the subfloor under the parquet is concrete, you may need to remove the parquet. Most manufacturer's require that you use a vapor barrier under a floating floor when there is concrete below.....if your manufacturer requires one, that means you have the parquet trapped between the slab and the vapor barrier....any moisture eminating from the slab will be trapped, and may cause the parquet to swell, buckle, or completely release from the subfloor, causing the new floating floor to fail.
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-10, 09:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ks
Posts: 3
ok thats good to hear and yes im putting carpet in, not laying the new flooring on carpet already there. The subfloor is wood and basement is unfinished and everything looks good, but as far as shifting between the laminate and subfloor it should be ok? Also as far as door gaps what would be recommened? Also what to do from my laminate to carpet transistion?

thanks for the reply
 
  #5  
Old 01-27-10, 07:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Little Rock Ar.
Posts: 292
Floor

My bad on the carpet is going "in". Since he has a subfloor sweating wont be an issue. Im on a slab and I laid tile in my small entryway that had wood parquet in it and man it was a real bugger to get up and then theres still the glue on the floor!!! I might take my chances if I had a lot of that stuff to take up!! HA
 
  #6  
Old 01-28-10, 09:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ks
Posts: 3
thats what i thought too pulling all the squares up wouldnt be bad but all the glue. That didnt look very appealling to me. Guess I will try it and see how it goes
 
  #7  
Old 01-28-10, 11:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Little Rock Ar.
Posts: 292
floor

My neighbor had a little 4x4 parquet area in his entryway also but his came up pretty easy. My parquet was like pulling teeth!! I had to chisel each square out one at a time !! Big mess. Guess it really depends on how well it was glued to the floor. Since you're on a subfloor no way I would try and take all that stuff up. Good luck.... Im no pro but any questions just ask, plenty of people here can help you.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'