oak floor replacement

Old 02-27-10, 07:37 AM
oak floor replacement

My 1913 bungalow's 1/2" quartersawn white oak floor is damaged beyond repair. I am planning on replacing it with new 1/4 sawn white oak (unfinished).
Some have told me that I need to rip the old out, since I want to run the new planks inthe same direction as the old.....any advice? can I just top the old?
also...(I have never done a wood floor before) do I need to put rosin paper down first?
advice for the fastening the "starter " plank?
I plan on using the same narrow (2.25" planks as before)
any advice? thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 02-27-10, 03:30 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Consider your doors, molding, cased openings, etc when planning on raising the floor by 3/4". Do you have the room? How about transitions to other flooring? If none of this will work, you may have to pull the old in order to maintain a reasonable height of the new floor.

Old 02-27-10, 03:41 PM
Group Moderator
I would talk to a pro flooring refinisher. I find it hard to believe that they can't be sanded down and refinished.

Old 02-27-10, 05:08 PM
Originally Posted by parkway
...Some have told me that I need to rip the old out
I'm definitly going to second Tolyn's advice.
A whole floor made with quartersawn oak is even worth some extra steps to salvage. I mean even if some sections do need replaced.
What kind of damage are we talkin'?

Old 02-27-10, 07:29 PM
the floor is only around 1/4" thick...and in a lot of places, the top part of the groove has broken off, leaving a long "gouge" or divot... especially in the traffic areas.
The baseboard is gone ( I will put new material in when I am done with the floor. All doors (and thresholds) are high enough to not present a problem if I don't remove..
Thanks for your input so far, guys! If I could, I'd buy ya'll a cold one!

Old 02-27-10, 08:07 PM
Group Moderator
So its been sanded quite a few times already?

1/2" quartersawn white oak floor
I thought it was 1/2"?